Total Pageviews

Thursday, 5 September 2013

Filled Under:

How are University Degree Programs Credited?

Understanding Degree Programmes

Kinds of qualifications
Educational qualifications are defined by their ‘level’. Pre-degree courses such as ‘A’ Levels, Access courses and Diplomas are at level 3. Higher education begins at level 4, with undergraduate degrees running from levels 4 to 6, and postgraduate degrees at level 7. There are two main kinds of undergraduate degree, the traditional Bachelor’s Degree from levels 4 to 6, and the newer work-based Foundation Degree which goes from level 4 to 5. Students who take foundation degrees can gain a Bachelor’s Degree by ‘topping up’ with a level 6 course.

3Predegree: ‘A’ Level, Access, BTEC, Diploma etc
4-5Foundation Degree: FdA / FdSc
4-6Bachelor Degree: BA / BSc (Hons)
6Bachelor Degree: BA / BSc (Hons) (top up)
7 Postgraduate Degree: PG Cert., PG Dip., MA / MSc

Full-time students take one level of undergraduate study a year, while part-time students take one level over two years.

Credits and Exit Awards
Undergraduate degrees consist of 120 ‘credits’ at each level, normally broken down into eight 15 credit modules. Students who choose to stop before completing their degree can graduate with an ‘exit award’ depending upon their number of credits accumulated.

4120Certificate of Higher Education (CertHE)
5240Foundation Degree, Diploma of Higher Education (DipHE)
6300Ordinary Degree
6360Bachelor’s Degree with Honours

Postgraduate degrees consist of either 60 credits (PG Certificate), 120 credits (PG Diploma), or 180 credits (MA / MSc). Confusingly 180 credits is full-time study at postgraduate level, and modules normally consist of twenty credits.


Post a Comment

Google+ Badge

Search Engine Optimization by Traffikon Web Services